Blog Banner Building

The banner for this blog was created via Pixlr Editor and Pixlr Express. Take a look at the Pixlr official site for all sorts of cool, free tools and effects for images.

Choosing the right image

The original image shown below was discovered using Google Images search tools. Specifically the Usage Rights tool that searched for images “labeled for reuse with modification” The original image can be found on Pixabay.com.

Before I explain my banner creation process, I should explain, for the record, that I have a bit of a thing for dolphins. Love ’em -always have. So that fact that one ended up in a blog about blogging is no surprise to me.

Now, this is really my first full-out blog. I thought long and hard about what to name it and what image to use in order to welcome the readers . I decided on the ocean picture for 3 reasons:

  1. I felt like I jumped into the deep end of the pool- head first.To blog appropriately, a lot of information has to be ingested, quickly. Sink or Swim.
  2. I am also a self-professed beach bum.I do live in Jersey….
  3. The Internet seems as vast and deep as the ocean – and I have only explored about 1%.

So the aquatic theme seemed to fit.

Image of a single dolphin swimming in the deep ocean with the part of the body and dorsal fin above water.

“Free Stock Photo: Dolphin, Ocean Sea” by FitMum from Pixabay licensed by CC 0

Editing the Image

After I opened the chosen image in the Pixlr Editor, I cropped it to the correct size for the blog theme.  Saved it again

I opened the newly sized image in Pixlr Express and applied the following tools:

  • Effects >>> Subtle >>> Ingrid: Changed the coloring and intensity of the image
  • Border>>>Rounded Corner>>> Brave:Lowered the visibility of the effect to about 40%
  • Type>>>Added and positioned 2 text boxes for the title and taglines

The Creative Process

I most likely spent a whole lot more time on the creation of this banner than I should have. It was fun but also a lot more complicated than I expected. Having to find the perfect image within the constraints of the usage rights puts serious limits on creativity. There were very few appropriate images that were also legal to modify. However, this process also ensures that the image owners get full credit over their pictures.

Leave a Reply

